Train Journal # 18, The ‘LIKE’ Generation – Pulling the meaningless trigger

FaceBook Like Button by GlockStore

I was thinking this morning on the ride in to work late as usual, tired from insomnia and emotionally drained from a struggle between my head and heart.

Then the LIKE button popped into my mind.

How I hate it.

How I think long and hard before clicking it.

How I’d rather just write a comment to a post and not ‘LIKE’ it.

This seems to be our new way of expressing love, hope, anger, apathy and the myriad of emotions we experience within 60 seconds.

The only meaningful action these days, is to log-on, Troll FB and ‘LIKE’ something.

What do you like about it? 

Five year old girl found after being kidnapped –  9 LIKES

Woke up due to contractions, this is no way to start a day – 5 LIKES

Should I befriend another random person –  6 LIKES

Advice, Quotes or Pictures – a GAZILLION LIKES

What do these clicks amount to?

When you like something, do you ever follow it up with some substantive action in life?

Do you apply the message?

Do you rally for the cause?

Did you sign the petition or merely like it?

Is clicking that BLUE THUMBS UP a subconscious habit, a cry for attention, a desire to connect or a meaningless acceptable social response.

What is the meaning?

Why do you click?

That’s it!

SLH

Note: Train journals is literally that, my morning thoughts before I start my day. The post maybe grammatically incorrect, and literally not make any sense but it’s a free-writing zone and the only time I don’t edit myself on this blog. The posts are to be taken… however it feels for you.  If you happen to derive some useful information, rock on!

5 responses to “Train Journal # 18, The ‘LIKE’ Generation – Pulling the meaningless trigger

  1. I think the “like” is just an acknowledgment that I read your post. If I feel like commenting then I do, but me “like”-ing a post is really my way of saying I saw what you posted and I thought it was a good one.. that’s really it..

  2. They only need direction to discover amazing things. Lucille “Two”- Lucille Bluth
    (Jessica Walter), the matriarch of the Bluth clan has an arch-rival also named Lucille.
    Cranial nerves connect the mouth, ears, eyes and nose to the
    brain.

I know you have something to say!

