Tuesday Tip – Diary Moment, Get honest, Walk the path

it's up to you

Today I read the most fascinating statement from the book
It’s Up to You – The Practice of Self-Reflection on the Buddhist Path, by DZIGAR KONGTRUL

Without the daring of non-attachment, we can’t really practice  self-reflection, because we are too invested in who we want to be.

I am. 

I am too invested in who I want to be, how I want to be seen, and what I want people to think about me. I’m even invested in how I want you to perceive this post.

Notice all the I’s.

That one sentence rang so much truth in my head, it was like church bells.

What does this mean? How do you seek happiness and balance if we are constantly to attached to self-preservation/ego-preservation?

I don’t have the answer to that question.

I’m equally a seeker and student.

But I suspect and hope that being a student is the path.

What path? 

The path that leads to truth, harmony, and detachment from things that cause pain internally and externally.

This is a large life goal of mine, and who knows if I will meet it.

My ego says YES, but my wish to detach from my ego says:

Walk the path, and answers are for tests.

There is it, The Tip, like a little nugget plucked from the sky:

Walk the path, answers are for tests.

That’s it.

SLH

I know you have something to say!

