Train Journal #16 – Follow your instincts and read your horoscope

This morning I had two goals before I made it in to work today:

Staying on schedule to make it to work on time (a rarity these days)

and

depositing a check.

Two very simple tasks since I had eaten breakfast, had my coffee and arrived in NYC  early (I commute from NJ).

As I exited the PATH station a very simple choice was ahead of me: walk forward to TD BANK or take a left and go to Chase.

For some odd reason my intuition was pulling me left, but I had decided to ignore my instincts.

As I crossed the street and headed to TD Bank the feeling persisted.

I stopped and bought a coffee from my favorite place (DETOUR #1).

THE COFFEE WAS OFF.  

This was the first hint that I should have followed my gut.

Arrived at TD Bank, it was empty except one customer online.

‘Perfect’, I thought because I had a question or else I would have deposited the check in the ATM machine (DETOUR #2).

The customer ahead of me pulled out a stack of papers…the second hint that I had made the wrong choice by not following my instincts.

After waiting for about thirteen minutes and now officially off schedule…I left the bank.

I looked up the block and there was Chase Bank :: wheew!

I headed toward the bank and there was also a CVS on the way, at which point I made another unintended stop (DETOUR #3).

I arrived at Chase, made my deposit and then proceeded to the train.

I took the proximity of distance between TD Bank, Chase Bank and CVS as a sign that MAYBE everything had indeed worked out…

Only to enter the station and discover my Metro card had expired. Also this was a station entry without machines..ONLY turnstiles.

WTF!

EXIT station.

Walked two blocks back in the direction I had come from.

Purchase Metrocard.

Arrived on platform as train doors closed.

Caught next train.

Arrived to work 6 minutes late, not horrible but not the point either.

I know that was a journey of a story to make one small point…

Listen to the voice in your head it’s usually RIGHT!

And what does this have to do with astrology? While on the train I read my horoscope:

It began with a quote from SENECA

“the fates guide him who will; him who won’t, they drag”

Basically cooperating with fate vs. being dragged toward the inevitable.

Which are you doing?

That’s it!

SLH

Note: Train journals is literally that, my morning thoughts before I start my day. The post maybe grammatically incorrect, and literally not make any sense but it’s a free-writing zone and the only time I don’t edit myself on this blog. The posts are to be taken… however it feels for you.  If you happen to derive some useful information, rock on!

I know you have something to say!

