Train Journal #15 – TENDING THE GARDEN OF REGRET– Don’t look back.

I’m not embarrassed to ADMIT I had no idea what to talk about this morning until I tuned into Pandora.

A song entitled Don’t look back by the Artist Bliss starting playing AND like magic it all came together.

Not really, it’s coming to gather as my hands hit the keyboard!

Oddly appropriate with Thanksgiving approaching, which I personally view as one of the most stressing of all Holidays.

Why?

Well you are basically hosting a dinner for a group of people you wouldn’t normally mix together under normal circumstance –ALL DAY.

Someone wants to watch football (ME), someone wants to watch some ole’ gay classic like “Mommy Dearest” – (YOU?)

The pie is under cooked..

The turkey is too dry…

Ham always good…

Some inappropriate AUNT or GUEST drinks too much…

etc…

etc.

Thank you, that was my Thanksgiving rant :: jumping of  soapbox

Back to topic

The expression ‘don’t look back’ probably feels a bit cliche’ and has commonsense all over it, but it still remains the most underused and under-appreciated words of wisdom in my opinion.

We have all done it and more than we like to admit.

We all have a little garden in our mind and we plant little regret seeds everyday.

If you don’t, please respond to this post because that advice should be shared!

What I try to remember when those ANTS (automatic negative thoughts) start crawling around in my head is that I’m in control.

YOU ARE IN CONTROL.

You can stop it, you can replace those seeds, hell you can even pour bleach in the garden. Kill off every thought that isn’t helping you or improving you.

You know those thoughts…

…I shouldn’t have said that

…Did I make the right choice

…Does he/she really mean that

We can never change what is done, we can only change our actions moving forward.

A statement that I often repeat:

“don’t apologize, who cares about apologies? just make a better choice next time.”

Sound rude?

I mean it.

Good, GREAT and AWESOME decision-making is far more valuable that words.

It means we are ACTIVELY and CONSCIOUSLY committing to being and doing better.

And, Yes I do follow my own advice — mostly!

That’s it!

SLH

-Don’t look back unless it’s to watch this video

Video rating PNFW: potentially not for work .

View at your own risk or minimize 🙂

Note: Train journals is literally that, my morning thoughts before I start my day. The post maybe grammatically incorrect, and literally not make any sense but it’s a free-writing zone and the only time I don’t edit myself on this blog. The posts are to be taken… however it feels for you.  If you happen to derive some useful information, rock on!

I know you have something to say!

