Monday Train Journal #7: WHAT ABOUT YOUR FRIENDS?

This morning I found myself wondering, thinking and analyzing my friendships over the last fifteen years.

It’s weird how you find and make true friends in the unlikeliest of places and how the deepest friendships seem to fizzle out like seltzer.

It’s like one day someone asks about Friend X, who is now not around and you respond:

I haven’t talk to X in years

Then the blank stare which is followed by the famous words:

But you two were so close, inseparable, etc, etc.

All you can do is shrug your shoulders and say: Life happens dude!

Not to be dismissive, but I haven’t even figured out the Friend X situation.

What happened?

How should one process the death of a friendship?

What if, or is there anything to be done?

Then you have new friends, and they seem to get you and it’s all golden.

In the back of your mind you wonder will you still be friends five years.

Why even worry about it! Enjoy the relationship in the now.

Then there are those friends you never see, never talk too but when you do get a chance to re-connect/connect: The record never skips a beat.

These are the friends that are woven in your life by that magical ‘something’.

The last groups are the friends that go into the circle of Family.

These are the people who know you, even better than you want to be known. But that knowledge they have of you is that saving grace. You find yourself more and more grateful everyday for these folks.

The love they give you is truly unconditional.

We should try to mimic our ‘loves’ after these friendships. I believe they are the best examples of how you should treat your partner. Except include the passion and all the other stuff relationship-love requires.

The point of all this friend talk, these friendships have defined me and are my mirrors.  They teach my about myself: the good, the bad and the beauty.

I don’t think we would see ourselves without them.

The next time you find yourself wondering who you are,  take a look at your friends.

That’s it.

Note: Train journals is literally that, my morning thoughts before I start my day. The post maybe grammatically incorrect, and literally not make any sense but it’s a free-writing zone and the only time I don’t edit myself on this blog. The posts are to be taken… however it feels for you.  If you happen to derive some useful information, rock on!. 

4 responses to “Monday Train Journal #7: WHAT ABOUT YOUR FRIENDS?

  1. Lately this question has been tumbling in my mind like a lost tumble weed in the desert. My circle was once so huge I couldn’t keep up but now so small I start to wonder the same thing,what happen to so so and so! Love this its like you read my mind.

    • Thx, Glitterhottie always happy to see you commenting. yeah as we get older what was good for the younger version of ourselves…not so much for the older.

      SHL

  2. I find that the people that I keep connected to the most are the ones reflecting back what I need to work on and grow with. I have only had seven friendship deaths, I’m a cancer I hold on tight and I tell you this much from the first one in elementary school until the last one several years ago, it hurts like hell when it is time to let go, I don’t think I ever believe you should let go though, that makes it harder on me.

I know you have something to say!

