Happiness is an inside Job

This is the title to a book by Sylvia Boorstein. She also wrote another book that I love, “It’s Easier than you Think”.  It’s basically a user-friendly guide to Buddhism.

I feel like we talk about happiness all the time.

Particularly people over the age of 32 seem completely obsessed with two pre-conditions attributed to happiness: a  person or career. 

If your really unlucky you’re focused on: Both.

Well I don’t actually mean unlucky, I mean it’s pretty darn exhausting to be focused on two very consuming things like yourself and someone you love.

Either way all the above could be unhealthy.

Because they are all external motivators and rely on another person’s participation.

If you agree with the title of this post, sustained happiness is achievable. I would venture to say, you already have it within you…if you tap into it.

Below are FIVE tips to help you sustain/tap into your happiness:

1. HAVE A THANK-A-THON!

Start by calling friends or family that you think about often or not at all. Thank them for anything they have done for you.

Example, Hi Dad, I was remembering that you taught me my colors and how to tie my shoes…THANK YOU! It really does feel good.

2. IT’S THE EXPERIENCES, NOT THE THINGS!

I see it everyday and I do this as well i.e., steal my own joy by focusing on what I don’t have. Instead try focusing on where you’ve been and the mini-miracles that happen everyday to get you there.

Example, Many years ago I went to France and I was also unemployed at the time. I could have spent my time there being unhappy about the minimal budget I had or that I still didn’t have a job to return home too.  But instead I woke-up everyday I was there and said YES, I’m in PARIS!

3. ALLOW YOURSELF TO BECOME OVERWHELMED BY THE TINY JOYS! 

Everyday we experience tiny little surprises. We overlook them because instinctively we tend to only register the BIG stuff. Don’t overlook the little joys you will find that they add up to daily happiness.

Example, The last time I went to my favorite pub, they were testing a new sandwich on the menu and I got a free sandwich! Or when Sephora gives your free samples at the end of your transaction. 

4. GIVE YOURSELF A HAPPINESS THEME (DAILY)! I do live by this.

I create or choose a quote that acts as a soundtrack to my day!

Today’s Quote is:

‘Forget what the word impossible means, and nurture all possibilities’

5. SURROUND YOURSELF WITH HAPPY PEOPLE! 

This is really an important one for me. Negative people are energy suckers. 

Example, If  you have a negative ‘Nelly’ calling your phone, DON’T answer. It’s your responsibility to protect your energy. 

Have a De-light and Full day!

Sontaia

2 responses to “Happiness is an inside Job

I know you have something to say!

