It’s Friday night, shamelessly take care of yourself!

This morning the first thing I did, was go online to listen to Coach Kerri R. Smith,  she is a Life Coach I have followed since MySpace. Now I know some of you  personally and you’re not the sort to buy into a life coach. But what I ask is don’t buy into a theory or practice. But into the idea of your own happiness and in abundance. Ironically enough her podcast for the week is entitled ABUNDANCE IS YOUR BIRTHRIGHThttp://www.kerrirsmith.com

When I was single, Friday nights was the most stressful day of the week for me, mainly because I was single.

From the moment I opened my eyes and began to prepare for my day, I would dread the unavoidable question at work: ‘Any plans tonight’ or my personal favorite ‘Hot Date’.

Any answer but Yes, brought on the onset of a sad feeling and made me ever thankful for my Saturday 11am therapy appointment or as my friends have named it “let’s talk about“.

And after a few glasses of wine on a Friday night with all your single and dateless friends, you discover that we all had a “let’s talk about” person.

I personally was very thankful for Sanchez and she helped me A LOT.  No shame in helping yourself.

What does any of this have to do with this FRIDAY or any night?

Taking care of self!

Single women and men spend a lot of time:

a.)coveting their friends relationships

b.) putting relationships on a pedestal (a very dangerous thing to do).

c.) Compare and despair (a phrase that I learned at a dinner party where we were discussing Facebook; the biggest incubator of the most negative automatic thoughts people suffer from).

The point, you have to take care of yourself. I mean take care of yourself in the way you deserve and want to be treated. This Friday Night the date is with YOU. And honestly it should be every night. Everyday find a way to love yourself better, deeper, and richer.

I’ve said this before, and I don’t claim the idea of dating yourself is a new one. But it is the one least practiced in my opinion. People spend a great deal of energy focused on what I call “deficit thinking,” i.e, everything you don’t have.

FOCUS ON THE MOST IMPORTANT THING YOU DO HAVE: YOU.

HAPPINESS BEGINS WITH YOU, AND TO BORROW – IT’S YOUR BIRTHRIGHT!

Ciao – P.k.

2 responses to “It’s Friday night, shamelessly take care of yourself!

I know you have something to say!

