Twilight

I was watching Twilight this weekend on cable, as it was on repeatedly no doubt in preparation for the next installment which involves a vampire/human wedding. Bella losing her soul for love and I believe conception by a dead guys sperm.

Does this sound a little perverse to you as well?

I have to thank ET and RO for the enlightening discussion which prompted this particular post.

Which leads me to this very important question:

What do we believe about love?

I will admit, I’ve watched all the Twilight movies, not sure why, perhaps it appeals to some subconscious message/desire we are all tuned into without really acknowledging it.

Perhaps, I was mostly curious to see what the big deal was, and it’s no big deal really.

Same old vampire story except these vamps aren’t so evil and more people friendly.

I am planning on seeing the next one because if she’s having a baby or some human/vamp hybrid?? I have to know how they are going to pull this off.

But what’s the deeper message in these films?

Love is worth dying for?

Love is worth losing your soul?

That is a pretty intense message.

Of course this is not a new phenomenon where a girl and a guy can’t stand the thought of living without each other, i.e. Romeo and Juliet.

The thought of being tied to someone on a heavenly, spiritual or divine level:

see: The Notebook, The Case of Benjamin Button, I’m sure you can think of others.

But this particular theme of giving up ones soul or mortal life to be with a blood drinking ‘undead’ gentlemen.

I dunno, seems to be taking the romance/love at first site thing to a

ANOTHER

LEVEL.

The very interesting thing is Twilight has cross generational appeal. Old, young, they all seem to connect with this otherworldly love and devotion shared between the characters.

I just ask myself how are these themes informing young people about love and reinforcing the same unrealistic patterns toward love in our society.

I know it’s just fiction, but to a tweener who has yet to experience love or the hopeless romantic that insists on believing this type of love exists..I think this trend is dangerous to your love life. Kinda dangerous to what we value in society as well.

I don’t have much to say, I just think the entire franchise is a little silly because it’s based on something totally unreal. Remember Ladies and Gentlemen Bella and Edward are fictional characters.

Most people aren’t willing to die for you, or visit you in jail should you get arrested. If someone wants to break-up with you, YOU WILL NOT DIE, and neither should they.

I know you have something to say!

